Swan Lake – Zeno Music Visualiser

October 21, 2008


This is the Waltz from Tchaikovsky’s Swan Lake suite, rendered through the Zeno music visualiser.

This is an entirely generative/audio reactive animation, i.e. no keyframing or manual input or editing. Programmed using the Processing language.

I had to tweak a little the audio frequency selections – the Bodysnatchers setup didn’t translate well.  The Radiohead track basically has two volumes – loud, and very loud.  Orchestral pieces tend to have a vast dynamic range and more subtlety.  Ideally I could have written a bit of code to automate this, but there’s a certain artistic sensibility and enjoyment involved when choosing which sounds will affect which bits of the animation, which leads me to think visualisers of the future could be more customisable by the user, as option though.

When I was watching this back, Disney’s Fantasia popped into my head.  It’s kind of obvious now that I think about it, perhaps it’s all been a subconscious desire to do my own Fantasia 🙂 mmmm now there’s a thought…

12 Responses to “Swan Lake – Zeno Music Visualiser”

  1. synthhead said

    Glenn – another gorgeous video.

    I had the same Fantasia thought when I saw this – a fantasia for people that thought the psychedelic non-representational sections of Fantasia were the best part!

  2. Cheers,
    I like your ‘Generative Music Visualisation’ phrase you use to describe me on your website, I’ll use that from now on!

  3. barryvan said

    My goodness, this is fantastic! I’d go so far as to say that it’s better than the Radiohead render. The camera moves in and out a bit too much, perhaps, but really, that’s just personal taste. 🙂

    Perhaps this works better than the Radiohead track because classical music isn’t generally run through dynamic range compressors, so you don’t get the “sausage” effect in the signal, and there’s more dynamic variance to work with. But I’m just guessing. 🙂 Great work, Glenn!

  4. mike said

    this is breathtaking. i was wondering if you could email me a package or some of the source for these projects. i understand if you don’t as i’m sure you’ve put a lot of time into this and don’t want to just give it away. any pointers to help be get past my mid-level knowledge of processing would be extremely helpful.

  5. mike, if you have ‘mid-level’ knowledge of Processing then you knew more than me when I started these projects 🙂

  6. haven said

    i really like that visualisations but i agree with barryvan i would prefer a more calm camara when it comes to zooming too 🙂

    and sometimes.. i am not sure how you determine the camara speed in scrolling.. but sometimes its like the music is faster than the image, what is for me sometimes very desturbing.. 🙂

    keep it up, looking forward to see more of your work.

  7. […] из последних работ – это визуализация Glenn Marshal Лебединого Озера великого русского композитора Чайковского, это […]

  8. […] Glen Marshall macht wunderbare Visualisierungen, wie zum Beispiel hier von Tschaikowskys Schwanensee. Die Videos entstehen indem ein von ihm geschriebenes Programm die Musik interpretiert und als Film ausgibt. http://www.vimeo.com/2027825 swfobject.embedSWF(“http://www.vimeo.com/moogaloop.swf”, “vvq490f20c5d8ea7”, “500”, “375”, “9”, vvqexpressinstall, { wmode: “opaque”, allowfullscreen: “true”, “server”: “www.vimeo.com”, “clip_id”: “1807754”, “show_portrait”: “0”, “show_title”: “1”, “show_byline”: “1”, “fullscreen”: “1” }, vvqparams, vvqattributes); swfobject.embedSWF(“http://www.vimeo.com/moogaloop.swf”, “vvq490f20c5da65c”, “500”, “375”, “9”, vvqexpressinstall, { wmode: “opaque”, allowfullscreen: “true”, “server”: “www.vimeo.com”, “clip_id”: “2027825”, “show_portrait”: “0”, “show_title”: “1”, “show_byline”: “1”, “fullscreen”: “1” }, vvqparams, vvqattributes); Filed under: Links – Grafik, das Internet   |   […]

  9. wyseur said

    wow, amazing job !!!! Kudos !

  10. Glenn, I would really like to speak to you about some of these historical pieces and some of the Apps you’re working on now.

    Can you should me an email when you have a moment?

    Warmly,
    scott@kaleidovision.tv

  11. Hi Scott
    have moved on from doing iPhone stuff for the minute – a lot of hard work for little reward unfortunately 😦

Leave a comment