Art Cam – early development of new iPhone app

July 26, 2010

.

Have just started on a new iPhone project, literally just a few days in and just got some basic code up and running on Saturday, which was also the date of the ‘Life in a Day’ global film experiment, so I’d thought I’d try and document getting the first results of my Art Cam app and submit this… not all my days are like this, but enough to make me love my job…

I want Art Cam to merge everything I love – photography, art, painting and image processing – into a single real time creative experience, to create still art, or animations. ¬†Algorithms, brushes, fx can all be creatively and interactively changed and experimented with in real time through a live camera view, you will also be able to ‘paint’ in detail and affect the general image processing though multi touch.

.

7 Responses to “Art Cam – early development of new iPhone app”

  1. Thank you for sharing !

  2. ash said

    Nice. I love prototyping and the speed at which you can test ideas. I’ve been tinkering with similar stuff: http://www.conceptualinertia.net/aoakenfo/flash-drawing

  3. wow! that’s pretty cool – reminds me of erik natzke’s stuff too which i love.

    there’s nothing speedy about prototyping for iphone though – quartz 2d is an abomination.. had to give up in the end and stick to open gl, which isn’t a bad thing..

  4. ash said

    lol, ur too kind. natzke was definitely an inspiration, but i’m not there yet.

    yes, good point. i’ve noticed development is slower, which is why I’m prototyping in Flash. It’s so easy to tweak a variable, hit Cmd+Enter and see the results. The turnover is quite fast and I don’t think there’s anything in my code that prevents it from being ported over to the iPad. but who knows…we’ll see when that time comes.

    anyway, keep up the good work and keep posting.

    cheers

  5. […] August 4, 2010 This is quick a glimpse of the mosaic algorithm I’m working on at the minute for my next app Art Cam. […]

  6. […] Mondrian filter will be one of the many real time camera modes available in Art Cam. #gallery-1 { margin: auto; } #gallery-1 .gallery-item { float: left; margin-top: 10px; text-align: […]

Leave a Reply

