Digital Religious Art – Part I

October 10, 2008

God, enlightenment, heaven, life, death, rebirth, mind, the universe. 

It’s not that I have a particular fascination with these themes, it’s just that they seem to creep into and shape everything I do unless someone tells me to do otherwise.

However, for me, religious and spiritual art need not always be an intense, mysterious, cosmic affair, as with most of my films.  Here are a  couple of projects that had different motivations.

 

Karmacino

This was the name of a website me and friend setup a while ago.  It was sort of a Digg.com for Buddhists, were people could post Buddhist related articles, news and stories from around the world, discussing and voting on them. 

We dreamt up the name Karmacino – a fusion of Karma and Cappuccino, which was the kind of the relaxed, enlightened atmosphere we wanted to create.  So we needed a logo, some branding and design work.  I came up with this idea of using a Bodhi leaf (classic Buddhist symbol) and a cappuccino/latte, created in 3ds Max.

I also wanted to create some wallpaper art based on this logo, using a repeating pattern technique I have refined over the years using After Effects.  I’ll write more on this technique in the future, and how my new direction using Processing will allow me to develop it much further.

The website is no more, it was just too much hassle trying to keep it up and running!

All that arises must pass away🙂

 

Latte-mation

As a spin-off idea from the original Karmacino logo, I had a bit of fun with some animated latte art, this was just a test, done in 3ds Max.  The latte art itself was animated separately as a texture in After Effects, I then brought everything across as a separate colour/bump/displacement map into 3d.  Was a nice creative challenge to get the right look of frothy milk and coffee mixing together to create forms, everything from mandalas, Buddha statues and the Bodhi leaf itself.

2 Responses to “Digital Religious Art – Part I”

  1. Nathaniel said

    Glenn, you are on my wavelength. This knowable but unseeable model of the infinite – and Man’s unique capability to bring order to the chaos thru the illusion of art or expression. It’s very Jungian, but the butterflies as worlds or maps are a really weird coincidence for me as I’d been developing the same idea in a different medium.

  2. […] cinematography (blog post) Latte-mation (1:15) a test done with 3ds Max and After Effects (blog post) Butterfly (10:00) Marshall’s first short film, commissioned by the Irish Film Board in 2002, […]

Leave a Reply

