Motion Graphic Synthesis #3

April 8, 2009

Just finished first demo video of my ‘graphic synthesiser’, or the G-synth as I’m finding myself calling it.

About 6 weeks intensive work went into the programming of this version, and one day to put together this demo (a bit rushed if I’m honest).   This is all a culmination of a years self-teaching and exploration of programming using the Processing language. 

There’s still bugs to be fixed and lots more features to add, and hopefully it will never be ‘finished’, it will just evolve and grow, branch out, diversify, like anything else.  I have a number of projects in mind for iPhone and Xbox, where the G-synth graphics engine would drive the visual output of the application.  Two ideas I have knocking about are a customisable music visualiser, and a ‘light synthesiser’ (here’s a reference to what to this means).

Principally though, it’s a tool and instrument for myself as a digital artist, which will hopefully keep my work fresh and innovative, and inspire others to teach themselves programming to build their own artistic technology.

demo0

demo0a

demo0a-2

demo1a

13 Responses to “Motion Graphic Synthesis #3”

  1. Lawrie said

    Wow, yet another stunning project from you Glenn. I can’t wait to have a play with this.

  2. [...] at Glenn Marshall’s site. swfobject.embedSWF(“http://www.vimeo.com/moogaloop.swf”, “vvq49dcab990e850″, “546″, “410″, “9″, [...]

  3. Davide Gomba said

    brilliant.
    does it “feels” the change of the phrase (like a bpm count?
    nice work

  4. David Pletts said

    G_Synth: Wow! I want one, I must have one. Please!

  5. Anthony said

    This is a fantastic project which has a lot of potential. Some of the effects in the video are quite beautiful. I must admit the interface is almost as interesting to me as the generated graphics. I also feel you might run into some speed issues with processing and you might have to move to a more powerful language. It’s a great start though. Keep it up.

  6. [...] had been considering hard which platform with which to push my animation and code art (Zeno and G-synth) onto, i.e. Xbox arcade, PC,MAC etc.  The first influential factor in favour of iPhone was [...]

  7. shaman4d said

    Glenn please explain me what you mean oscillograph – is it hardware or software?

  8. Hi,
    It’s just a software function that creates oscillating numbers between -1 and 1 using sin/cosine math. Helps create natural looking motion.

  9. shaman4d said

    Thank you for your answer. The last question what library you used for work with sound? I looked forward two books about Processing and standard Processing’s examples but found nothing about.

  10. [...] that uses the same principles of wave synthesis but to generate changing images, (blog posts 1, 2, 3 and Graphic Synthesiser Demo (3:51), 4, 5) and an iPhone App (blog post 1, 2 and iPhone App Test #1 [...]

  11. kyle said

    Simply wonderful!

    I particularly enjoyed the parts where the moving strands emerged from the bottom of the screen, almost resembling blades of grass. I also like how colour was only introduced towards the end of the video. the black and white was enough, but when those vivid hues came up on the screen, that really did it for me.

    Spectacular work!

    will this ever be a media player plug-in? I want to watch these visualisations with all of my music. I could get lost in this.

  12. thanks kyle,
    i’ve moved on from doing visualizers at the minute,
    instead concentrating on game design, although elements of which might branch back into visualizers.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

